Project Sewn: 80s, part 2

80soutfit-sit2

Like, it seems, several other folks participating in the Project Sewn sew-along, I was initially puzzled by what to do for the 80s challenge. 80s clothes, while fun, don’t exactly seem like they would work easily into my wardrobe in the 21st century.

80soutfit2

So I did a little Googling into the current 80s inspired fashion trends to see what walked the runway, and also searched up some general 80s trends that I thought I could play with, without them feeling too “80s” when I wear them.

I was inspired by two things. First, this image from the Oscar de la Renta spring 2013 show immediately caught my attention. I loved the bright blue and the embellished cropped jacket, and I decided to put my own spin on those concepts.

Second, I thought it would be fun to put my own, feminine spin on a classic Miami Vice look:

miami-vice

Another concept that I played with was the cropped white denim jacket, which I fondly remember from my own 80s wardrobe (along with jelly shoes and miniskirts, neither of which I’m quite young enough to pull off any more). Instead of doing denim, however, I made the jacket (and dress) out of linen, so it’s lighter and feels a bit more like spring-summer wear.
80soutfit-side
All the sequins are hand-sewn onto the jacket with invisible thread, and the brooch on top was originally a clear button, onto which I glued a blue fabric back to incorporate the blue and give the button more depth.
80sjacket 80sjacket-detail
The dress is a simple sheath (Simplicity 1609), and the jacket is from Simplicity 1688. The jacket is fully lined, and I think the more boxy cut gives it an 80s feel, just like my inspiration outfits! I did alter the closure on the jacket to add the button, which is actually a brooch (so I can wash the jacket); I put a buttonhole on the left side of the bodice and sewed a button on the back of the right side, behind where the button brooch goes. The dress is a pretty fast and easy sew… as long as you are OK with sewing darts! There were eight darts on this dress.

Of course, I had to wear my chunky white heels with this outfit for the photos… definitely an added 80s touch 🙂

Here’s a shot of just the dress, which has a more mod, 60s feel without the jacket (which is more my style). I like how the darts give the dress a great shape! I think I’m going to be making some more versions of this dress, maybe with different necklines.
80sdress

If you like this outfit, please go visit Project Sewn, and vote for it starting on Friday! Thanks in advance!

Linked Up:
125

15 thoughts on “Project Sewn: 80s, part 2

  1. Pingback: Project Sewn: Signature Look | Kathleen Sews

  2. Pingback: Selfish sewing week | Kathleen Sews

  3. Pingback: Selfish sewing “week,” part 3 | Kathleen Sews

Leave a Reply

