Christmas ensemble, part 1: My top and skirt

xmas-adult-2013

I’m very excited about the new “Project Sewn” website! A sewing competition site for adult clothes, from the minds behind “Project Run and Play“? Could it get any more fun?

The first post on Project Sewn is a link-up for clothes that we sewers have made for ourselves. This outfit was the first time I made separates for myself on my sewing machine – I had hand-sewn skirts for myself before, but never made a top.

The top is from this “Lace Collar Top” pattern by Burda. It features a peplum (which I wanted to try while they are still in style) and princess darts; I added another set of bust darts to aid in the fit and omitted the collar, since the print was so busy. There are another set of darts on the sleeves which help keep the sleeve close to your arm, and which are a very nice touch.

This was the first time I had sewn a Burda pattern to completion, although I have downloaded free patterns from them before. Apart from the trickiness of working with a pattern without seam allowances on dark fabric (I used chalk to outline my pattern pieces) I only ran into one issue, which is that the pattern seems to indicate that you sew the zipper into the middle of the back instead of going all the way up to the neckline. I just went ahead and inserted the zipper the way I’ve done invisible zippers before, starting at the neckline, and it worked out fine.

Since I haven’t figured out how to do blind hems on my machine yet, I hemmed the peplum and sleeves by hand… I need to figure out how to use that stitch setting!

This is a fairly versatile Burda pattern, which includes two sleeve styles, two “skirt” lengths and two neckline styles (along with the removable collar option), and I think I’ll try a variation on it this summer or fall.

The skirt is a basic Simplicity pencil skirt pattern with a side front slit that I picked up during a $1 pattern sale at JoAnn and which contains fitted pants as well… I haven’t tried those out but the skirt was pretty straightforward, and I think I’ll use the pattern to remake some old skirts that don’t fit any more. I cheated and omitted the hook and eye at the top of the zipper, figuring I could always add a button and loop on the inside if I had to (I hate how hook and eyes feel).

Although you can barely see it in the photo, I also made a reversible headband using this “Best Band Ever” tutorial – they are really great headbands and I’m going to try to size them down for my daughter, as I both she and I liked mine better than the one I made her.

Full post on my daughter’s outfit coming soon 🙂

The wonderful photo in this post is by the talented Jeff Madison at First Memories Photography.

3 thoughts on “Christmas ensemble, part 1: My top and skirt

  1. Pingback: Christmas ensemble, part 2: My daughter’s dress and jacket | Kathleen Sews

  2. Pingback: Christmas ensemble, part 3: The boys | Kathleen Sews

  3. Pingback: Selfish sewing week | Kathleen Sews

Leave a Reply

